Another philosopher’s conversion

Until a recent e-mail exchange I had with him, I didn’t know that J. Budziszewski, Professor of Government and Philosophy at the University of Texas at Austin, is a Catholic. He actually converted in 2004. Read about it, and learn a few other interesting things, in this interview with him.

Every journey into the Mystical Body of Christ is individual. But in JB’s story of his own, there are not a few echoes of other journeys. Pilgrims progress along roads that intersect. I suspect many can relate.

6 Responses

  1. Mike

    You’re right about some of that sounding familiar. In particular, this part sounded almost eerily so:

    Then came the day when the college chaplain, who happened to be giving the homily that day, announced to the congregation that he “was no longer able” to believe in the Resurrection. I wanted to ask, “What happened to your vows?” and “How dare you continue to call yourself a priest?” But I merely asked, “I see you every week, reciting the Nicene Creed like the rest of us. If you don’t believe it, how can you?”

    He responded, “I do it as an act of solidarity with the community.” In other words, it meant nothing at all. I came to realize that this was true for a great many Episcopal priests. The principle of doctrinal education in our parish was “anything goes”–that is, anything but historic Christian doctrine. If you stood up for Holy Scripture and Apostolic Tradition you would quickly find yourself on the outs.

    I wrote about virtually the same experience here:

    So I finally popped the sixty-four thousand dollar ontological question: What about the Creed? Don’t you recite the Creed at Mass and, if so, how do you feel about saying that you believe these things when you don’t? His answer struck me as so inane that I remember it virtually verbatim: “Oh, I think you do certain things socially like that and it doesn’t really mean that you take them literally.” In short, the recitation of the Creed at Mass is, like everything else one says at Mass, apparently, just a kind of stage play.

  2. Scott:

    The really “eerie” thing is that the experience you wrote about was with somebody who is formally Catholic. The disease is the same no matter what church you attend. The cure is to learn sentire cum Ecclesia. Too bad Latin lacks the definite article. At least it allows capitalization.

    Best,
    Mike

  3. A gauche question, perhaps, but I’d rather know than avoid saying mentioning him: How do you pronounce “Budziszewski”?

    My guess is “Bud-zi-zhev-skee”. Anyone?

    Wojtla, check. Brzezinksi, check. Budziszewski, not so check.

  4. I think something like “Boo(d?)-zi-zhev-skee”

    And on the JH…

    [audio src="http://ewtn.edgeboss.net/download/ewtn/audiolibrary/jh_05092005.mp3" /]

  5. He and his wife pronounce it “Boo-di-shef-skee”
    They are wonderfully warm, friendly people.

  6. Cool, you know them?🙂

    I think it’s boo-jee-shef-ski, since that’s how it’s written out in the blurb about him on the Boundless website where he has a lot of columns.

    I know I’m late, but I just landed here searching for his name, and I had to post and squeal that Budziszewski’s conversion precipitated my own. I was a perfectly happy Evangelical and a big fan of his columns until I learned in July 2006 that he’d become Catholic. I couldn’t see how such a smart man would join such a dumb religion, and then someone (I think it was the Holy Spirit) suggested to me that perhaps it wasn’t as dumb a religion as I thought. The rest is history– I’m so grateful!

Leave a Reply

